Day 6 and some more- My first Goan adventure

So after washing clothes and freting for a while I decided to just take my bike and head to the food truck. What’s the worst that could happen? I might return without eating… but I’d still have tried and that’s a victory in itself.

So equipped with all the confidence that an adrenaline rush from a spontaneous act can give you, I headed towards the truck. There were 6 people other than me there and all of them were men. My good sense urged me to not eat there today as it is on a decently lonely stretch of the road. But since I very rarely obey my good sense and my adrenaline was so not letting me think logically, I stopped. I courageously ordered a chilly beef bun. 

Its a dollop of chilly beef served inside a wheat bun pocket. 

I don’t know whether it was good or not but for me it was the best meal ever. 

I’ve never gone out and eaten alone. Ever. I tend to parcel food or order in or choose maggi over the dooming depressive feel of eating alone. So this miniscule sandwich tasted of success and confidence and love and pride and happiness and sorrow and courage and many more things in every single bite. It tasted of life!

Riding back singing and crying with happiness, my bike’s headlights suddenly died and then I came face to face with a giant bull. We did the you first-me first comedy routine very well during which my kidneys reached my lungs with fear. One push from this mighty creature and I’d land in the ditch by the side of these fields and noone would know till day break. But one look at its eyes and I realised how tired and worn out it was too. And almost as scared of me as I was of it. So I reversed and waited for it to cross and then rode back home with my indicator on for any fast oncoming traffic to see.

I reached home with even more adrenaline than I had when I left. But also a whole lot of new emotions.

One down. A gazillion more fears to go. 🙂

PS: the lack of bright street lights near the food truck hampered my photography skills. Well, that and the fact that I was gobbling up the sandwich in nervousness and happiness. 😉

Chilli beef sandwich

Leave a Reply

